T20 squad India 2021 for T20 World Cup

On Wednesday, 08.309.2021, the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) announced 15-members squad for the scheduled ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The interesting news is that Ravichandran Ashwin has made comeback to the squad after a long time.

It is amazing to know that MS Dhoni has been selected as the mentor for the ICC T20 world Cup campaign and he will motivate the team members during the tournament.

Here is the India’s 15-man squad:

  • Virat Kohli (Capt) 
  • Rohit Sharma (vc) 
  • KL Rahul
  • Suryakumar Yadav 
  • Rishabh Pant (wk)
  • Ishan Kishan (wk)
  • Hardik Pandya 
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Rahul Chahar 
  • Ravichandran Ashwin 
  • Axar Patel
  • Varun Chakravarthy
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar 
  • Mohd Shami

Ashwin is an asset. This is what that was said by the Chief selector Chetan Sharma during a press conference. He is added that he has performed well during the IPL and we will use his experience. Also, he was needed because off spinner Washington (Sundar) injured.

It was astonishing for the fans that Shikhar Dhawan, wrist spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav were the famous omission from the squad.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2021 is scheduled to be held in UAE and Oman from October, 17, 2021. India will start its campaign by playing against Pakistan on October, 24, 2021.  

Super 12 will start from October 23 and will end on November 08. After that knock out stage of ICC T20 World Cup will start from November 10 and will continue till November 14 with the Final of ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Leave a Comment