Pakistan Team Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022- Updated on 17 September 2022

On Monday. September 15, 2022, Pakistan Cricket board announced the 15-men squad for the upcoming Scheduled T20 world Cup 2022. The event is scheduled to be held in Australia from 16 October 2022 to 13 November 2022.

Pakistan team squad for icc t20 world cup 2022

Pakistan will start its campaign with a tough and interesting game against India on 23 October at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne.

In the group, Pakistan will also play against Bangladesh, South Africa and two other qualifying teams from the group.

As expected, Babar Azam will lead the Pakistan team and Muhammad Rizwan will be the vice-captain for this mega event.

Imad Wasim and Hasan Ali both have been dropped from the squad due to their poor performance. Shaheen Shah Afridi, Muhammad Waseem and Naseem Shah have successfully made their place in the squad. It was very astonishing to know that PCB has announced backup for this T20 World Cup including Fakhar Zaman, Shahnawaz Dahani and Muhammad Haris.

Moreover, after the poor performance by Azam khan during National T20 Cup, he is dropped from the 15 member squad including Sarfraz Ahmad, ex captain for this event .

Due to the consistent performance in the middle order during the second leg of Pakistan Super League, and National T20 Cup, Shan Masood had made his place in the 15-men team. Shan Masood performed well during the current season including HBL PSL.

Latest update appeared on 15 September 2022, as Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali and Iftikhar Ahmad were selected in the squad despite of the fact that their performance was poor during Asia Cup 2022, held in UAE.

It is very interesting that PCB has not selected Shoaib Malik for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, although there was media reports that he might be selected because of poor performance in the middle order.

An upcoming star, Shahnawaz Dhani along with Muhammad Haris and Fakhar Zaman are included in the list of reserve players and will travel with the team to Australia.  

Here’s Pakistan’s squad for T20 World Cup: 

  1. Babar Azam
  2. Shadab Khan
  3. Asif Ali
  4. Haris Rauf
  5. Iftikhar Ahmad
  6. Haider Ali
  7. Mohammad Nawaz
  8. Mohammad Rizwan
  9. Mohammad Wasim
  10. Shaheen Afridi
  11. Khushdil Shah
  12. Muhammad Husnain
  13. Naseem Shah
  14. Shan Masood
  15. Usman Qadir

Reserve Player: 

  • Shahnawaz Dhani
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Muhammad Haris

Leave a Comment