Pakistan Team Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021- Updated on 09 October 2021

On Monday. September 6, 2021, Pakistan Cricket board announced the 15-men squad for the upcoming Scheduled T20 world Cup 2021. The event is scheduled to be held in UAE and Oman from 17 October 2021.

Pakistan will start its campaign with a tough and interesting game against India on 24 October in Dubai.

In the group, Pakistan will also play against New Zealand, Afghanistan and two other qualifying teams from the group.

As expected, Babar Azam will lead the Pakistan team and Muhammad Rizwan will be the vice-captain for this mega event.

Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Muhammad Hafeez has successfully made their place in the squad. It was very astonishing to know that PCB had not announced any backup opener for this T20 World Cup. Now, recent development is made by PCB and Fakhar Zaman is selected against Khushdil Shah after the bad performance by Khushdil Shah in National T20 Cup.

Moreover, after the poor performance by Azam khan during National T20 Cup, he is dropped from the 15 member squad and Sarfraz Ahmad, ex captain, is selected for this event .

Due to the consistent performance in the middle order during the second leg of Pakistan Super League, Sohaib Maqsood had made his place in the 15-men team. Sohaib Maqsood remained the higher run scorer during the HBL PSL.

Latest update appeared on 09 October 2021 as Sohaib Maqsood has been ruled out the squad due to his lower back injury. Sohaib Maqsood is now replaced with a senior all-rounder Shoab Malik.

It is very interesting that PCB has not selected Shoaib Malik for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 because he has not player for Pakistan since September 2020. According to sources, Babar Azam wanted to select Shoaib Malik for the tournament but his request was denied.

An upcoming star, Shahnawaz Dhani along with Usman Qadir are included in the list of reserve players and will travel with the team to UAE and Oman.  

Here’s Pakistan’s squad for T20 World Cup: 

  • Babar Azam
  • Shadab Khan
  • Asif Ali
  • Sarfraz Ahmad
  • Haris Rauf
  • Hasan Ali
  • Imad Wasim
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Haider Ali
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Mohammad Wasim
  • Shaheen Afridi
  • Shoaib Malik

Reserve Player: Shahnawaz Dhani, Usman Qadir, Khushdil Shah

Leave a Comment