ICC T20 World Cup list of winners

The ICC T20 World Cup that was previously known as ICC World Twenty20 is a famous International T20 Cricket event. International Cricket Council (ICC) is responsible to recognize this mega event.

If we look at the history of this event, it is found that the idea of T20 Cricket was proposed by Stuart Robertson who was acting as Marketing Manager in English Cricket Board ECB.

ICC decided to organize the T20 World Cup after seeing the great success of T20 Cricket in domestic tournaments. It was decided that first T20 World Cup would be started from 2007 and it will be conducted after every two years except any ICC 50 Over World Cup don’t fall at that year.

The first edition of T20 Cricket World Cup was held in South Africa in 2007. India won the first T20 World Cup and staged at the top of ICC T20 Cricket World Cup winners list

It is very good news that ICC has announced ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Schedule. Due to ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, the scheduled ICC T20 World Cup has been shifted from India. UAE and Oman will be new ICC T20 World Cup Venue for this event.

ICC Twenty20 World Cup champions list

West Indies is the defending champion in T20 World Cup 2021. West Indies beat England in the final of T20 World Cup 2016 by 04 wickets.

T20 World Cup 2021 consists of 16 teams. In this 08 teams are direct qualifiers and 04 teams will qualify for the main round i.e. Super 12s. ICC has announced ICC T20 WORLD CUP GROUPS for this huge T20 world Cup event.

Till now, 06 ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup tournaments have been played and West Indies is the only team that has won T20 Cricket World Cup tournament twice in 2012 and then in 2016. Although, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa are the big teams in the world of Cricket but they have never won the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup tournament.  

Following is the ICC Twenty20 World Cup winners list from the year 2007 to till 2016.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List Year Wise

YearVenueWinnerRunnerMatch Result
2007South AfricaIndiaPakistanIndia won by 5 runs
2009EnglandPakistanSri LankaPakistan won by 8 wickets
2010West IndiesEnglandAustraliaEngland won by 7 wickets
2012Sri LankaWest IndiesSri LankaWest Indies won by 36 runs
2014BangladeshSri LankaIndiaSri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016IndiaWest IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 4 wickets

Leave a Comment